Skip to main content
Dvorak's New World. 70th Anniversary Arapahoe Philharmonic Symphony of the Rockies

Arapahoe Philharmonic Presents Dvorak's New World

This event has passed

About the event

Featuring Masakazu Ito, guitar
Dvořák Symphony no. 9 “From the New World”
Joaquín Rodrigo Concierto de Aranjuez
Chen Yi Ge Xu (Antiphony)

Devin Patrick Hughes, conductor

• In his New World Symphony, Antonín Dvořák frames his impressions of the music he heard in America through the lens of his Bohemian roots.
• Blind composer Joaquín Rodrigo interpreted the sounds from the gardens of the Royal Palace of Aranjuez to create a soulful meditation and unforgettable Guitar Concerto.
• Chen Yi’s “Ge Xu (Antiphony)” is inspired by the vividly competitive antiphonal singing of the Zhuang minority and folk dancing tune of the Yi minority in Southern China.
• “Masakazu Ito displayed conspicuous skill and tonal range… [he] proved himself to be a clean and technically adroit player, whizzing through thorny passages with aplomb.” – The Los Angeles Times

For more information, visit the Arapahoe Philharmonic website.